The Jane Austen Book Club, Karen Joy Fowler

So if you can’t tell from previous posts on this blog, I love Jane Austen – and that was what made me initially attracted to reading this book. (I mean, her name is in the title!) However, it turned out to be not quite what I expected.

The premise of the book is that the lives of the characters of the bookclub start to resemble the books that they are reading. But to be honest, I didn’t really get it. I don’t know if it was just me and my forgetful nature about the details of the book (some of which I read quite a while ago), but I felt like it was just a gimmick to entice the readers by using Austen’s name, rather than a well-used device that improved the novel.

Not that this wasn’t a bad book – at times I was really interested in it, particularly the characters’ backgrounds. But most of the time I felt like i struggled to get into this book. I wish it was a better read, but honestly, I can’t pretend that it was better than it was.

IMG_6557 2

 


 

Leave a Reply

