The Dog Who Dared To Dream, Sun-mi Hwang

I really enjoyed reading Sun-mi Hwang’s previous novel The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly, so when I saw this new story I was really interested to read something similar.

However, I found this story harder to get excited about reading than the previous novella. I don’t know whether it was the different characters or the long time-frame, but I just didn’t feel quite the same connection or empathy for the characters.

It did get better towards the end, as I got to understand the characters better as the moral message of the story too: friendship, motherhood and the importance of loyalty. I particularly enjoyed the character of Scraggly, with her strength and ability to step up to any challenge.

I really like reading short novels, and would like to read more of them in the new year, but unfortunately I was a little underwhelmed by this one.

img_5854


 

Leave a Reply

