2016 In Review

Usually I would say something philosophical reflecting on how “I can’t believe what a great year it’s been” blah blah, but to be honest I think most of us would rather forget half of this year… So instead I’m just going to get on with the positive thoughts, and my annual post about my favourite things of this year!

***

BOOK (FICTION): Empire of Storms, Sarah J.Maas
I can’t believe I haven’t written about this book on my blog? In case it’s not obvious by previous posts about this series, I really like this series, and now after the cliffhanger this novel ended on, I am even more excited for what happens next.

AN81548908spectacles
BOOKS (NON-FICTION): 
Spectacles, Sue Perkins
I don’t often read autobiographies, but Sue Perkins is such a funny, charismatic person on TV that I knew this books wouldn’t be one I wanted to miss. You can read my full review of it here.

 

POEM: Selected Poems, Linton Kwesi Johnson
Unfortunately I am really rather rubbish at keeping New Year’s resolutions, and my decision to read more poetry this year was one of them that I failed. The only poetry I can remember reading and enjoying this year was at university: Linton Kwesi Johnson. Pretty good to read but actually better to listen to.

PLAY: Romeo and Juliet, Londonromeo-and-juliet-quote
I’ve always harboured a great fondness for this play (I think after studying it twice at school and being able to quote parts afterwards I was bound to enjoy it!). This was a pretty good production of it, even without Lily James in her lead role. I mean, I still got to see Derek Jacobi do Shakespeare, so… You can read my full review of it here.

samantha-barks-as-cathy-and-jonathan-bailey-as-jamie-in-the-last-five-years-at-st-james-theatre-photo-scott-rylander-2MUSICAL: The Last Five Years, London
I am still rather in awe of the magnificence of this production: the acting, the costume, the lighting, everything. It was better than I could have ever imagined. If anything, it has made me love it even more! You can read my full review of it here.

 

HOLIDAY: New York, USAIMG_5169
I’ve been to some pretty incredible places this year, but nothing could beat going to America for the first time! New York is such an impressive place, with so much to see, and I know I will find myself back there one day. You can see what I wrote about my time in new York here.

***

Happy New Year everyone! I hope 2017 brings you some happy memories.

Leave a Reply

