Oryx and Crake, Margaret Atwood

Snowman, known as Jimmy before mankind was overwhelmed by a plague, is struggling to survive in a world where he may be the last human, and mourning the loss of his best friend, Crake, and the beautiful and elusive Oryx whom they both loved. In search of answers, he embarks on a journey–with the help of the green-eyed Children of Crake. Margaret Atwood projects us into a near future that is both all too familiar and beyond our imagining.


Ever since I first read The Handmaid’s Tale as part of my IB studies 3 years ago I’ve wanted to read more of Margaret  Atwood’s writing. The Oryx and Crake trilogy seemed a great place to start for expanding my Atwood reading – it’s dystopian (yay!) and has received great reviews, and the covers are very pretty and intriguing (I know I shouldn’t judge a book by that, but I couldn’t help it!). And finally this summer I picked up the first in the trilogy and started reading.

So this is quite a strange novel (as it’s dystopian, so no surprises there!). I knew practically nothing about the plot, making it even more confusing – which seems to be typical of Atwood. The plot focuses on the aftermath of a huge disaster, with memories from the protagonist that take the reader to the past and help them gradually understand how this disaster happened – although this knowledge doesn’t culminate until the last 30 pages! It sounds confusing but I really liked this feature; it kept me reading to find out more even when I didn’t know what was going on!

All the events and memories are told from the point of view of protagonist Jimmy (also known as ‘Snowman’ as his chosen nickname…) He has some very strange and confusing thoughts throughout the novel, but by the end I couldn’t help but feel sorry for him.

Half the time I didn’t know where this book would be going (especially knowing it is part of a series!), and when I think about it nothing much actually happens, with the “current” action taking place over a short period of time, yet it still managed to keep me engaged? In fact, now I’ve finished it I can’t wait to discover what will happen next.

images


 

Leave a Reply

