The Beautiful Bergen, Norway

My family and I wanted to go for a quick holiday before my sister and I go back to our respective universities. So we decided to go to Norway! (And it was good to go only for a short time considering that  it’s SO expensive there!) Norway is a truly stunning  country – something I realised from the moment I got off the plane.

We only stayed for 4 days, including the days on the flights there and back, so we stayed in the city of Bergen the whole time. But even then, there was still lots to see.

Fjords
The fjords are possibly the main highlight of this area of Norway, so we couldn’t go without visiting some. (For those that don’t know what fjords are: “A fjord is formed when a glacier retreats, after carving its typical U-shaped valley, and the sea fills the resulting valley floor. This forms a narrow, steep sided inlet connected to the sea.“) We took a 3.5 hour boat trip; the wind made it pretty cold at times but the views were worth it! The steep sides made me feel rather insignificant in the most incredible way. (That sounds stupid, right?) I didn’t really know what to expect when we got on the boat, but the mountains and vast amounts of green were so peaceful (although sometimes it seemed to go on forever).

img_5356IMG_5348.jpg

Fløyen
We also went up the funicular to the top of the mountain of Fløyen in Bergen. And at the top is a little bit of magic, hidden among the forest. My family and I went ‘troll hunting’, walking along the paths around the stunning lakes and the moss-covered boulders surrounding the trees. There was also a great view of the city below from the top of the mountain (obviously!).

IMG_5378.jpg

img_5374
We found some trolls!

Museums and the Fortress
History seems to be such an important part of the fabric of the city – and it’s no surprise considering the city is thought to have been founded in 1020! The fortress includes both the Hakons Hall and the Rosenkratz Tower. We walked around both at our own leisurely pace – they were interesting to see, as well as learning about some of the Norwegian history.

Bergen also has a lot of art museums – although they close earlier than we expected so we didn’t get as long as we would have liked inside. Nevertheless it was nice to see some National painters that I probably wouldn’t otherwise look at when I go to galleries.

IMG_5293.jpg
Inside Hakons Hall

I loved my time in Norway – I don’t think I could ever forget how naturally beautiful this country is. (And we were so lucky with the weather – it’s meant to rain 2 out of every 3 days here in September, but we did not see a drop of rain once the entire time!!) Maybe one day I’ll get to go back? I sure hope so.


Description of fjords taken from: http://www.fjords.com


 

One thought on “The Beautiful Bergen, Norway

Leave a Reply

