Queen of Shadows, Sarah J Maas

‘She was a whirling cloud of death, a queen of shadows, and these men were already carrion.’

Everyone Calaena Sordothien loves has been taken from her. She has embraced her  identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terasen. And she will fight for her cousin, who is prepared to die for her; she will fight for her friend, trapped in an unspeakable prison; she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s lost.


 

I absolutely love this series (which I have written about previously), but the story gets even better in this most recent instalment.

I really love the characters; the strong and powerful attitude of a female protagonist is always a pleasure to read about. Aelin/Calaena is what has always attracted me to this series, so the developing relationships with other characters only makes it more interesting to me. Plus, her and Rowan are just perfect! I cannot wait to see what happens next. (I used to love Chaol but he became a bit of a flop in this book really.)

The plot of this novel was very engaging, particularly the twists and turns of the characters and their changes over time (like Manon, Aedion and Lysandra). The multiple story lines of previous books seem to start to come together by the end of this story. There were moments when I really couldn’t put this book down.

Queen of Shadows is definitely tied as my favourite from the series so far, along with the first Throne of Glass. Compared to the middle two, the plot has a much better pace, and the parts I didn’t like before I now liked! (If that doesn’t show improvement then I don’t know what does.)

This series is what made me like the fantasy genre of fiction (its scope for supernatural plot details is great to keep the reader entertained and interested). Sarah J Maas leaves this book ending at the end of one plot detail and the start of another, so it will be interesting to see what is next in store for Aelin and her court.

IMG_3071.jpg


 

3 thoughts on “Queen of Shadows, Sarah J Maas

Leave a Reply

