2015 In Review

New Years Eve and the upcoming New Year bring with them an opportunity to look forward, and create New Year resolutions. But it is also a time to look back at everything the year has given me.  Every year I look back and I’m stunned by how much I’ve managed to fit into the 365 days!

So, again this year I have thought about my favourite books, plays and more from this year, and come up with a short(ish) list:

IMG_1579

BOOK (FICTION): The Rosie Project, Graeme Simsion
I am awful at making decisions, so this is tough! But I really liked this book: the characterisation is just phenomenal. I need to read the next book soon!! (My review for this book is here.)

BOOK (NON-FICTION): H Is For Hawk, Helen Mcdonald
I stuck to my goal for this year and have read lots more non-fiction books this year, all of which have been so different! This book though was just so fascinating to me, and beautifully written, that it had to be my top choice. (My review for this book is here.

POEM: Ariel, Sylvia PlathIMG_3035.jpg
This is actually a collection of poetry, but I’m counting it anyway. I really like Sylvia Plath, and another of my aims for this year was to read more poetry (out of my own choice). This was the poetry I started with to achieve this goal – I really like reading Plath her writing, particularly the narrative but ambiguous style of the poetry.

PLAY (THAT I’VE READ): Plays: Two, Enda Walsh
I bought this collection when I met Enda Walsh at the National Theatre but it took me a while to get round to reading. (I read them in the summer but forgot to write a review, oops!) These plays were rather strange but a part of me couldn’t help but like them. They were well written and maybe I’ll read some more by Walsh at some point? (My post on meeting Enda Walsh is here.)

Richard James Neale, Barry Aird, Steven Miller, Dritan Kastrati & Ryan Fletcher in Frantic Assembly's Othello. Credit Manuel Harlan. 210

PLAY (THAT I’VE WATCHED): Frantic Assembly’s Othello
I love Shakespeare and I love physical theatre drama so there was no way I wasn’t going to love this production! (My review for this show is here.)

MUSICAL: The Book of Mormon
I saw this very recently so I don’t feel like there’s much more I can say about it, other than the songs are so so catchy! (My review for this show is here.)

HOLIDAY: Pompeii, Herculaneum & Sorrento
Sunny and historical – perfect! This was also my first holiday of the year, so it’s nice to end on this one. (My post on my holiday is here.)IMG_0835

Happy New year to everyone  – I hope you’re 2016 is successful and full of fun and happiness!


 

Leave a Reply

