Paris

I was very busy last week! I also went to Paris for two days, as a present from me to my boyfriend. (I took him to Amsterdam last year, and my post on it is here.) These are some of the things we got up to:

Louvre

Even though I’ve been to Paris twice before I have never been to the Louvre before! (Crazy, I know.) I didn’t realise how huge it is! I’ve been to lots of different art galleries and museums but I still found it interesting – and actually, there are more intricate and beautiful pieces than just the Mona Lisa. However, all the information is in French, which is a shame as although I know some French, it was frustrating not to learn about all the information that was given.

IMG_2067

Cemeteries: Montparnasse Père Lachaise

Who knew that dead people could be so interesting?! There is a surprising amount of famous people buried in Paris, such as Beckett and Wilde (which carried on conveniently from our very recent trip to Dublin!), as well as Satre, Chopin and Edith Piaf. As the weather was so beautiful during our trip it was lovely to just wonder and explore, particularly the cobbled paths (and steep hill!) of Père Lachaise.

IMG_2076

The graves of Oscar Wilde (top) and Samuel Beckett (bottom). They were very opposite people!
The graves of Oscar Wilde (top) and Samuel Beckett (bottom). They were very opposite people!

Shakespeare & Company Bookstore

This is such a good bookshop! It is possibly the most famous one in Paris, but it was also well known by other writers (such as James Joyce, Ernest Hemingway, Ezra Pound…) who lived in Paris. The books are all in English, and the shelves are full from floor to ceiling. Furthermore, upstairs there is a piano (at which someone is constantly sat playing, and can be heard throughout the store), and reading areas to settle down and dive into a book. Oh, and what independent bookstore wouldn’t be complete without a store cat!

IMG_2074
Spot the cat?

Victor Hugo’s House

Before visiting here I didn’t know anything about Victor Hugo (other than he wrote Les Miserables and The Hunchback of Notre Dame), so I didn’t know what to expect. The house is a museum, free to enter, with the rooms set out to resemble what his rooms would have looked like. Luckily enough, information was given for me to understand, and enjoy my time.

Luxembourg Gardens

We just passed through here but it has a great link to Les Mis so it deserves a mention: it is the setting in the book where Marius and Cosette first meet! And I can see how this place could make someone like Marius fall in love: it was gorgeous, especially on such a sunny day.

IMG_2081


I loved my short time in Paris; it’s a busy city, with lots to do, but there are also quieter areas that are just as interesting to explore. I know I’ll be back again in the future.

IMG_2070


Leave a Reply

