My latest project: The Rosie Project, Graeme Simsion

“I diagnosed brain overload and set up a spreadsheet to analyze the situation.”

“But why, why, why can’t people just say what they mean?” 

Don Tillman, professor of genetics, has never been on a second date. Yet he must concede to the statistical probability that there is someone for everyone, and he embarks upon the Wife Project. Rosie is the opposite Don’s ‘perfect wife’, but her quest to find her biological father forces an unlikely relationship to bloom…

I really liked this book: it was fun, easy to read, and made me laugh out loud to myself on several occasions.

This novel has an extremely distinct writing style, which clearly presents the unconventional nature of Don. It has some brilliant characterisation of Don, particularly his intelligent and undiagnosed autistic/asperges attitude. (With his phrases such as “brain reboot”, he reminds of Sheldon from ‘The Big Bang Theory’.) As it was told from Don’s point of view, it allowed Simsion to use some interesting and funny phrases, and present how he sees the world.  The descriptions and developments of other characters, such as Rosie, are also excellent throughout.

Unknown

The plot is surprisingly less predictable than I thought it would be – there were some twists and turns I thought I had guessed, but actually I got them completely wrong! This made it even more engaging than it already was to read, along with the characters and captivating writing, and I just couldn’t stop reading it.

I really cannot wait to read the sequel. I don’t know where it will go, but I’m excited to see how the relationships develop.

IMG_1579


Leave a Reply

