Throne of Glass series: Heir of Fire

“Still, the image haunted his dreams throughout the night: a lovely girl gazing at the stars, and the stars who gazed back.” – Throne of Glass

“And then I am going to rattle the stars.” – Heir of Fire

The Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas is possibly one of my favourite series. I don’t read many series’ anymore (I have wanted to expand my reading collection and buying books are so expensive), but I am hooked on this series. I’ve recently finished the third book in the series but I thought I would share my views of the series so far. (I first started this series ages ago, but have only just got around to reading the latest book.)

Throne of Glass

Fantasy is a genre that I’ve never been totally sure on, but the plot of Throne of Glass had me hooked from the start. It is full of action, which is what I expected, but mystery too (a turn from what I was initially looking forward to, but so good nevertheless).

The character of Calaena, with her headstrong feisty attitude and free independent nature, was also what drew me so heavily into this series. She’s a brilliant character, with some complex and compelling layers underneath her defensive attitude.

What I like about the first book is Maas plunges the reader straight into the action of the tasks at the beginning of a chapter or paragraph, rather than going through a laborious slow introduction and description every time. It’s great in order to keep up the pace and action – exactly what the book is about.

Crown of Midnight

I personally didn’t find the second book as enjoyable as the first. (Throne of Glass is definitely my favourite – boring, I know.) But I realise now that it was important setting up the plot for the third book – and my gosh it’s worth it!

IMG_1082 Heir of Fire

Calaena’s past and heritage is finally fully revealed, and it is so exciting! What I particularly like is that she begins to embrace her past and the Fae’s as part of her life. This book has some lovely character development particularly when comparing to the first book. It’s obvious with Calaena – as I have just mentioned – but also Chaol and Dorian too.

One thing I do love about a series is being  able to experience a character change as they learn more, even if it is heartbreaking too (like Chaol!) But character development is due to plot development – which was gripping in this new instalment – which in turn brings with it new characters. At first I wasn’t too interested in them, but I actually grew to love them, especially Rowan. I am really excited to learn more about them. Bring on book four! IMG_1087


2 thoughts on “Throne of Glass series: Heir of Fire

  1. You’re totally right about books being expensive, but at least there’s discount stores like bookoutlet. I haven’t bought a copy of this series or A Court of Thorn and Roses, but I’m definitely going to read some Sarah J. Maas in the future. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

