All I Know Now & An Evening with Carrie Hope Fletcher

Carrie Hope Fletcher is an actress, YouTuber and now newly published author of All I Know Now.Carrie_Fletcher_TenEighty_April_2015_Rebecca_Need_Menear_11-300x300

‘All I Know Now’

This book is non-fiction, described by a self-help guide to “growing up gracefully”. I don’t read non-fiction often, but the personal yet moral nature of the book drew me in right from the start.

The writing style is a friendly conversation style (in a similar way to her blogs and videos), but despite the fun atmosphere it still manages to efficiently present the important messages behind each chapter. I think this is partly from Carrie’s outgoing nature and also the origins of the book – as it started out as a blog, which allows this free informal style.

There are a few things I loved about this book, such as the topics it addresses; I felt I could relate to a lot of them, both good and bad. However, it has been pointed out that perhaps this book is more relatable for girls. Although many of the topics are often experienced by both genders, it did come across to me as aimed towards women. BUT it’s also important to realise that this book uses Carrie’s personal experiences, so of course it is going to be more personal to women because it is written by a woman!

I also really liked the layout out of the books in ‘Acts’ and the drawings, which were also by Carrie. In fact, the whole book was all her own work – no ghostwriters, just her mind, memories and laptop. I think this book is all the better for it.

As it is non-fiction I know Carrie wanted to help just one person by writing All I Know Now, but from the responses that I’ve seen and heard, I know that nearly everyone has taken something fro it – I know I have.

An Evening with Carrie Hope Fletcher

IMG_1332So on Thursday I went to Waterstones Piccadilly in London to join 150 other Hopefuls for the All I Know Now book tour. The event started with a chat between Carrie and fellow YouTuber Benjamin Cook and a reading from her book, followed by a Q&A with the audience and then Carrie – with her trusty guitar – sang us some songs: We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together (Taylor Swift and Carrie Hope Fletcher is possibly the best combination ever, as proven in her Blank Space cover) and her own song Boys in Books Are Better. All the audience sang along with every word, and I can’t imagine how incredible it must have been for Carrie with everyone singing along.

Following this was the book signing, and because I broke my leg last week (and so can’t stand up for long) the lovely staff at Waterstones let me go to the front of the queue!

The whole evening was so much fun, and  Carrie was so lovely and funny and engaging – and looked gorgeous in her yellow dress too.

IMG_1360
Myself & Carrie
Leave a Reply

