2014 In Review

New Years Eve and the upcoming New Year bring with them an opportunity to look forward, and create New Year resolutions. But it is also a time to look back at everything the year has given me.  Every year I look back and I’m amazed by how much I have done!

So, I have thought about my favourite books and plays and more from this year, and come up with a short(ish) list:

BOOK (FICTION) Frankenstein, Mary ShelleyIMG_0094-2

There were so many I could choose from, but this is one that has stayed in my memory all year. I haven’t written a review for this book as I read it before I started this blog, but I can assure you it is a brilliant novel. I loved reading it, especially finally learning about the complete story of Shelley’s classic and fascinating novel.

IMG_0097BOOK (NON-FICTION) Unsaid Things… Our Story, McFly

Okay, so I’m cheating a bit with this one. I actually read this at the end of 2013, but I’ve not read any non-fiction books for choice this year. This autobiography, and what I discovered from reading it, still sticks in my head now though, so it feels like I read it this year. Kind of. Maybe a resolution for 2015 should be to read more non-fiction?

POEM Digging, Seamus Heaney

Again, I’ve not read many poems this year, but it’s something that I’ve wanted to read more of for quite a while. Maybe 2015 will bring with it more opportunity? From those that I have read at school this poem is my favourite by far – I’m so grateful my course has introduced me to Heaney.

PLAY (THAT I’VE READ) Twelfth Night, ShakespeareIMG_0100

Once again I would love to read more plays – I do read a couple a year – it’s just my ‘To Read’ list is longer than my arm! I love Shakespeare though and as I am a twin Twelfth Night is an obvious favourite for me (and I did actually read it this year!)

imagesPLAY (THAT I’VE WATCHED) Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night Time

I was given the opportunity to see this on a school trip, but I’ve wanted to see it for ages. It was truly phenomenal – I found myself at many times leaning forward in my seat, completely engrossed. (I promise, I’m not exaggerating, I really was on the edge of my seat!) Maybe I’ll write a review on it soon…

MUSICAL Once and Matilda

once-posterI saw Once at the beginning of this year and I’m completely in love with it – as much as it breaks my heart. I was lucky enough to see this with Arthur Darvill as the male lead, but I had already seen it before in August 2013. (Does that mean it doesn’t count? I don’t think so; I saw it this year too!)

However, I also really enjoyed Matilda (and finally, one that I have written about on my blog. Yay!) It’s a brilliantly fun and entertaining show.

Beth's phone_20140716_004HOLIDAY Amsterdam

I write about my trips and holidays on here, so why not include it, right? This was one of the highlights of my year actually, and my first proper post on this blog, so it seems rather appropriate to end this year with this moment.


Leave a Reply

